Navratri is a combination of two words. ‘Nav’ means nine while ‘ratri’ means night. Therefore, this celebration is literally translated as ‘nine nights’. During this period nine different form of Goddess Durga are worshipped, they are Shailaputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skanda Mata, Katyayani, Kala Ratri (Kaalratri), Maha Gowri and Siddhidayini.

Each day we take commitment to destroy one evil from ourselves. The real evils are our ego, sorrow, anger, hate, greed, jealousy etc which should be killed from ourselves. On the tenth day, we celebrate Vijaya Dasami, i.e. win over all these negativity.

It is celebrated as Garba-Dandiya, Ramlila, Golu and Durga Pooja in various parts of the country. In Gujarat, people do dandiya and garba, a beautiful folk dance, wearing colorful dresses.

May Goddess Durga shower all her Love and Blessings on all human beings.